boat registration - Coast Guard vessel documentation - yacht registry

Massachusetts Boat Registration Summary

          Massachusetts boat registration summary presents an overview of boat titling, registration, loan perfection, and operational requirements for the State of Massachusetts. Additional boat registration and titling resources can be found by visiting our Registration page as shown in the above menu selections. Boat registration services, supplemental forms, and historical research data  are also available from our Services, Forms, and Database pages.

The information presented here is subject to change and should be confirmed with the respective state agency.
Please read our terms of use before proceeding.

Boat Registration Agency Massachusetts Boat RegistrationState of Massachusetts
Division of Law Enforcement
Registration Bureau

Boat Registration Web Site
Boat Registration Statistics There are approximately 137,668 boats registered in the State of Massachusetts. This accounts for 1.1% of all nationwide registrations.
Boat Registration Numbering The boat registration number prefix for Massachusetts is "MS".
Boat Registration Requirements Registration is required on all motorized boats in Massachusetts. Coast Guard documented boats are exempt from registration. Registration certificates are renewed every 2 years.
Boat Title Requirements All registered boats over 14' are titled in Massachusetts except those which are Coast Guard documented.
Conditional Boat Registrations Massachusetts does not have provisions for bonded boat titles or conditional boat registrations where sufficient proof of ownership is not available. These situations are handled on a case-by-case basis through the Registration Bureau.
Abandoned Boats Massachusetts has defined procedures for registering abandoned boats.
Tax Requirements Sales tax is levied on boat transactions in Massachusetts.
Boat Loan Perfection Security interests on non-documented boats which are state titled must be recorded on the state title records. On Coast Guard documented vessels, a preferred mortgage must be recorded on the vessel's abstract of title. A UCC financing statement must be filed if the boat is neither titled or documented.
Boat Registration Records  Boat registration records in Massachusetts are administered by the Massachusetts Environmental Police. This agency does not facilitate online registration searches for the general public. If you need a boat record print-out, it will be necessary to submit a written request.
Boat Ownership Designations Multiple owners are designated as either "Co-owner" or "Joint Owner" on Massachusetts boat records.
Boat Residency Requirements Non-residents may register a boat in Massachusetts if this is the state of principal usage.
Boat Reporting Requirements Ownership transfers of boats registered in Massachusetts must be reported within 15 days.
Boat Hull Number Inspection A  boat must be physically inspected by a Massachusetts law enforcement officer if there is a hull number discrepancy.
Outboard Boat Motors Massachusetts does not issue title or registration certificates for outboard motors.
Boat Trailers Registration is required for boat trailers in Massachusetts. Titles are required on boat trailers weighing over 3,000 lbs.
Notary Regulations Massachusetts notary commissions are  for 7 years, no bonding is required, and the notary must use an embossed or inked seal.

MarineTitle.com

A Division of Maritime Partners, LLC
State of Washington  USA
© Copyright 1998 - 2017.   All rights reserved.