registration summary presents an overview of boat titling, registration,
loan perfection, and operational requirements for the State of
Louisiana. More detailed information, forms, guidelines, and other resources are obtainable by downloading a
Boat Registration Kit
for this state. You will also find an extensive listing of general
purpose boat and trailer registration forms on our Forms
Please visit our
State page for additional
articles and information about registering or titling boats, trailers,
and outboard motors.
The information presented here is subject to change and should be
confirmed with the respective state agency.
Boat Registration Statistics
approximately 302,974 boats registered in Louisiana. This state
ranks 15th among nationwide boat registrations.
registration number prefix for Louisiana is "LA".
Wildlife and Fisheries.
must be registered except sail boats less than 13' in length and
sailboards. Registration is required for Coast Guard documented
vessels which are used for recreational or commercial fishing
25, 2009 anyone required to register a new or previously owned
boat valued at $2,500 or greater, which will be financed through
a lending institution, is required to obtain a title. Titling is
optional for persons who already own their boat and have already
registered the vessel in Louisiana prior to Aug. 25, 2009 or
those who are purchasing a previously-owned boat that is already
registered in Louisiana.
does not have provisions for bonded boat titles or conditional
boat registrations. Under these circumstances, ownership would
need to be established through an award from a court of proper
does not have provisions for registering found or abandoned
boats. Under these circumstances, ownership would need to be
established through an award from a court of proper
information on how to obtain verbal and written reports can be
found in our
kit for this state.
||Sales tax is
levied on all boat transactions in Louisiana.
interests on non-documented boats which are state titled must be
recorded on the Louisiana state registration records. If the
vessel is documented, a preferred vessel mortgage should be
recorded with the U.S. Coast Guard. A UCC recording would be
appropriate if neither state titling or documentation applies.
does not designate joint ownership methods on registration
may apply for a registration if the boat is located within the
State of Louisiana.
number must be inspected by a Louisiana law enforcement if
there is a discrepancy.
transfers, abandonments, and destructions must be reported to
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries within 15 days. Stolen
boats must be reported within 5 days.
does not issue title or registration certificates for outboard motors.
registrations and titles are issued in Louisiana.
commissions are for life, $10,000 bonding is required, and usage of
notary seals is optional.
period of 90 days is allowed for boats that are registered in another state,
Coast Guard documented, or registered in a foreign country.