Mississippi boat registration summary presents an overview of boat titling, registration, loan perfection, and operational requirements for the State of Mississippi. Additional boat registration and titling resources can be found by visiting our Registration page as shown in the above menu selections. Boat registration services, supplemental forms, and historical research data are also available from our Services, Forms, and Database pages.
The information presented here is subject to change and should be
confirmed with the respective state agency.
|Boat Registration Agency||State of
Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks
Boat Registration Information
|Boat Registration Statistics||There are approximately 130,959 boats registered in the State of Mississippi. This accounts for 1.1% of all nationwide registrations.|
|Boat Registration Numbering||The boat numbering prefix for Mississippi is "MI".|
|Boat Registration Requirements||Registration is required on all motorized boats and sailboats. Coast Guard documented boats are exempt from registration. Boat registration certificates renew every three years.|
|Boat Title Requirements||Boat titling is optional in Mississippi except for Coast Guard documented vessels which may not be titled.|
|Conditional Boat Registrations||Mississippi does not have provisions for bonded boat titles or conditional boat registrations where sufficient proof of ownership is not otherwise available. In these cases, an award of ownership from a court of proper jurisdiction will be required.|
|Boat Registration Records||Boat registration records in Mississippi are administered by the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries & Parks. This agency does not facilitate online registration searches for the general public. It will be necessary to submit a request for a record printout. Boat registration records are maintained for eight years.|
|State Tax Requirements||Sales tax is levied on boat transactions in Mississippi.|
|Boat Loan Perfection||Security interests on non-documented boats that are state titled must be recorded on the state title which is then sent to the secured party. On Coast Guard documented vessels, a preferred mortgage must be recorded on the vessel's abstract of title. A UCC financing statement must be filed if the boat is neither titled or documented.|
|Boat Ownership Designations||Mississippi does not list joint ownership methods on boat registration records.|
|Boat Residency Requirements||Non-residents may acquire Mississippi titles and registrations if the boat is moored, housed, or garaged within the state.|
|Boat Hull Number Inspection||Boats must be inspected by a Mississippi law enforcement officer if there is a discrepancy with the hull identification number.|
|Boat Reporting Requirements||Ownership transfers, abandonments, destructions, and thefts must be reported to the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks within 15 days.|
|Outboard Boat Motors||Mississippi issues titles as an option for outboard motors.|
|Boat Trailers||Registration is required for boat trailers in Mississippi. Titling is optional.|
|Notary Regulations||Notaries serve 4 year terms, must post a $5,000 bond, and must affix an embossed or inked seal to all notarized documents.|
A Division of Maritime Partners, LLC
State of Washington USA
© Copyright 1998 - 2017. All rights reserved.